top of page

Design Team Challenge

This challenge marks the return to designing for Through the Craft Room Door after a very brief break.


I love mixing textures in my designs and its important to remember that digital images can be printed and coloured on so much more than just plain paper. I decided to use printable parchment paper and pearlized water colour paints. When water is added during the painting process the parchment alters its shape and no longer lies flat on the page which really works well with the Country Border 2 Digital Stamp from Morgans Art World.


The ethos and diversity behind this creative team is something I really relate to as a disabled crafter myself and also a mother of a special needs child.


Its also worth saying that designs don't necessarily need lots of backing papers and colour, often plain is perfect.


I rough cut the image on the parchment paper once the painting was dry and then used a fine liner around the outside edge of the image for two reasons, it helps the image stand up on the shiny card and also matches the crisp black sentiment in the centre of the card.


I hope you enjoy the idea and play a little more with different textures.

Happy Crafting.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page