top of page

Sometimes little really is more

Design Team Challenge


This month I once again I had to convince myself not to continue adding detail. When I took a look at this months finished design team challenge from Through The Craft Room Door I knew the decision was the right one.


Some images or designs call for empty spaces to balance against the busyness or detail contained in other parts of the working canvas. This month the sponsor for the challenge was from JMC Designs and my chosen digital image was Criminella Vil-lan. The image was so much fun to work with. My creative process normally involves me playing with the image in my head for at least a few days if not weeks. When I finally sit to begin the design I can go straight to the materials and sometimes that includes my chosen colour pallet.


This image had me looking at clean lines, angles and layers but only using a few colours. I have applied more emphasis on creating a starkness between a heavily patterned backing paper and subtle visual textured plain paper. I felt this was a way of harmonising with the plain and patterned areas of the digital image. Rather than add loads of colour to the image I added layers by decoupaging a few areas of the image to lift it off the page.


Some of you may find this a very structured and analytical way of creating but it is my bag. I use the skills that come naturally to me. That doesn't mean I don't try new things, in fact I think knowing what my comfort zone is allows me to try knew things because even if they are a failure I know I can return to what I know best.


Paw Print paper was hand stamped using a stamp, (and the sentiment) from "Paw Prints" a Gemini/Crafters Companion stamp and die set.


The sentiment was heat embossed in a thick white opaque powder.


Coloured using Chameleon Blending Pens. Colours:V04, B42, BR3, 0R3, PR4, NU2, and finally Y03.


I hope you like the finished design. Don't forget to take a look at Through The Craft Room Blog and why not submit an entry. I would highly recommend JMC Designs and if you have never used Digital Stamps...."Come out of your comfort Zone"








20 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page