top of page

From nothing to something

My craft room is the one place where hording is allowed. My craft space isn't very big but its filled with draws and folders full of scrap pieces left over from other projects. I throw very little into waste.


So when this fortnightly challenge for Through the Craft Room Door came around I knew it was time to bring out the bits and pieces.

The challenge sponsor was PinksyDoodles and I chose the layered flowers SVG cutting file. Its the first time I have completed a challenge using a cutting file rather than a digital stamp.


The cutting file was perfect for using scraps as each flower has four layers and with the ability to resize the flowers it was great opportunity to use even the smallest of leftover paper.


As you can see from the picture I began by getting lots of scrap loaded onto my desk and began grouping complimentary colours and patterns.


Once the flowers were cut and built up it was then that I chose an circular easel card to enhance the 3-Dimensional element to the flowers.


The stamp is from a collection of flower themed stamps from Tattered Lace, the background is Tim Holtz Distress Stain-Tarnished Brass.

I used a hint of definition on a few of the layered flowers using various mini inkpads.


So here is my tip for today, when you start creating, always reach for the scraps first before grabbing whole sheets as you will find many treasures, papers and card you had forgotten about.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page