top of page

Keep it Simple

Design team Challenge

Definitely in my comfort zone with this weeks challenge from Through the Craft Room Door. Fantastic SVG cutting file from Pinksy Doodles entitled "Flower Pop Up Card" .


Using a cutting machine as some may think isn't a cheat way of crafting. If you use a die cutting machine in your paper crafting escapades you will know that a die is one size which can limit you if you wish to make a bigger scale card or box etc. With a cutting file you have the added ability to alter the size of the file which I find gives me added flexibility when creating the perfect card or gift.


This image is very simple in its design but very effective and a high quality cutting design. I chose to use a glittery card stock for the card base and a bright hi gloss rainbow paper for the insert. Using my cutting machine I added the Thank you sentiment . Once assembled I felt that the 3 Dimensional flower with the backing paper showing through meant that the card need very little else doing to it after all the flower should be the focal point.


I curved the edgings of the petals to lift the layers and then just added at little dab of Nuvo Drops in complimentary colours, (similar to those on the rainbow paper insert) to the tips and centre of the flower. Absolutely a bling bling card .


Its also a great card if you have limited turnaround time to produce a card. When it comes to me sending cards that is often the case as I have a terrible memory.



Printable Champagne coloured glitter card. Rainbow coloured paper (insert)

Nuvo drops for flower tips, Nuvo Glitter Drops-Purple Rain, Blue Lagoon and Nuvo Crystal Drops-Apple Green.


I would highly recommend Pinksy Doodles Files for any of you with Cutting Machines.

16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page