top of page

Many parts to a good creation

From an image to a scene

So its Design team challenge day, my image choice (if you hadn't worked it out) is of a fun and very cute puppy. The sponsor for this weeks challenge with Through the Craft Room Door is Wink Wink Ink . The artists just brings the character alive. Choosing from so many great digital stamps didn't take long because when my eyes reached Pup in Boots looking at more choices simply wasn't necessary.


I am often asked "what makes this image a Digital stamp?" or "Isn't it just like a page from a colouring book?"

A page from a colouring book is there for just that, to colour and the design will be a complete picture with the staged scene and or characters combined. With a digital stamp it is you who decides whether or not to create a scene around the image. Some work as centrepiece on a mat and layered card.

My process begins by determining if anything contained in the design hints towards a place, a theme, a particular weather or season. I went with outdoors. Next I try and try and visualise the stage in my head. After that I start to rummage through my craft room pulling out anything I think may get the image in my head onto paper. The colouring of the digital stamp only happens after the background/scene is completed. This enables me to ensure that when I begin working on the digital stamp all the materials I pick from my earlier rummage work perfectly with the image. By starting with the background scene I know where best to place the digital stamp.


Digital Stamp using Chameleon Colour Blending Pens; OR3 +YL2 Topper, BL6, GR2+GR1 Topper, BR3+BR2 Topper, YG3, RD4, PK3+PK4 Topper and BR1+NU3 Topper.

Floor of card using Tim Holtz Distress Inks; Pumice Stone, Shaded Lilac, Weathered Wood and Hickory Smoke

Fencing Paper was scrap from my craft stash and Sentiment was from Creative Stamping Magazine.






I used a second copy of the image to create small pieces of decoupage just to give a little dimension to the card design.


My hot tip would be when doing this colour the same part of the whole image and the decoupage pieces consecutively to maintain close duplication.


The little details just have the dog standing over the welly boot and the small patches of decoupage on the flower pot adds density.


I hope this blog gets you thinking about your next creation. Happy Craftingxx



19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page