top of page

Neutral Backgrounds

Design Team Challenge


I don't know about you I often forget that if the main focus of a design is bold and colourful does not equal an entire card of bursting with colour. In fact by using multiple neutral elements the focal point stands out far more affectively.


The design chosen for this challenge with The Friendly Flower Frog and "un frogettable" Greeting was provided the wonderful by DRS Designs.


Even before adding colour the image is so bold and fun that my design need to draw you straight to it with the background of the card being unconsciously enjoyed as part of the whole.


The background is created using Kraft card with watermark ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. Keeping with the neutral theme I located a free Lilly PNG and printed in a matt brown. I resized the Lilly and added the sentiment. Creating a texture on the large lilly was achieved with Distress Stains, Crushed Olive and Tarnished Brass and a slight edging using Distress Ink Twisted Citron.



I used 2 of the images, so that i could decoupage the flowers and arms of the frog.


It was coloured used Chameleon colouring pens system. YO2, BG4+ YG3 Topper, YG3, BL3, PK4 +PK5 Topper.


I finally put a thin rough free hand border (using PK5) around to link to the bright pink flowers.


Two hot tips for today. Neutral doesn't have to be one thing on a card, and when you intend to work with embossing power wipe the card down with a anti-static stamping bag or use a small amount of talc.


I hope you enjoy this card, the frog certainly makes me smile.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page