top of page

Resist Stamping

Design Team Challenge

Like most people you have difficult times in your life where you give yourself a talking too. For me that conversation with myself always starts with, "Right Lisa Bailey its time to put your big girls pants on" I have even been known to tell me friends that I'm doing it probably so I can hear it out loud.


So you can imagine the grin on my face when the image from our Sponsor for this week, [Odd Ball Art Company] had selected the image entitled "Panties in a bunch, creepy cute set of 4 as one of the digi stamps to work with.


I wanted to make the image stand out so kept the background white and concentrated on vibrant colours for the image and complemented with a backing card that i made using the resist stamping technique.


If you aren't sure what that is, you are simply embossing in either clear or a opaque white embossing powder. Once this is done you then use your chosen blending inks to actually colour the paper. The inks don't stick to embossing and thus it shines through.


A good tip when you are using embossing powder is first wipe down the card with an anti-static pad. This applies a fine powder that prevents excess embossing powder sticking to the card. During the heating process it reduces that likelihood of random flecks of heated embossing powder being on the card.


I used a sentiment stamp that I love but I will confess I don't know who it's by.



I chose 3 different pink shades of Tim Holtz distress ink to create the background paper and place a small freestyle border around the edge of the focal image using a 4th colour in the range. Colours i chose were Pickled Raspberry, Spun Sugar, Festive Berries and Spiced Marmelade


The colouring was completed using Chameleon Colour Blending pens. Pen colours; BG3&4, BV2, PK4&5, YO2, YL2, OR4 and pen toppers BG4T, PR4 and OR4.


I think this card is perfect for boosting someone's confidence and it will definitely have them smiling in no time. I hope you enjoyed todays blog and don't forget to comment or ask more about the techniques and tools i have used to create this.


16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page