top of page

Thinking outside the box

When we design cards for an occasion we often head to towards the familiar or the obvious. I had the pleasure of working with a Colour of love digital image as the sponsor for this weeks design team challenge on Through the craft room door.


I went for an animal which is not my usual direction, (people over flowers, flowers over animals) as many of you browsing my blog may have realised. So the first thing that drew me to the Hedgehog Candy Bellyfulls was the fact that it is not in a true to life setting and very fun.


So once I had dug deep through my stash to rediscover a digital paper DVD, it was about selecting the right colours to work with the paper and the background of the image.


Unless the image theme dictates the sentiment choice, I make a decision last as it is only once the image is complete I am able to decide what, size, position and colour.


For me the idea of combining the fairy tail and excuse the pun, "sweet" elements of the image felt right. Craft is no stranger to instinct and matters of the heart taking down a creative path. To achieve this just the addition of a acorn & leaf border stamp from one of my monthly stamp magazines. When selecting the stamp I came across a matching set of sentiments and instantly new I turn this card into a New Home card.


There is not a house or key image in sight, neither do the sentiments scream New Home but when you add the 2 stamps used along side the setting of the Hedgehogs Candy Bellyfulls and it works brilliantly.



Coloured using Chameleon Pencils. Image background achieved by blending Distress Inks, Mowed Lawn, Cracked Pistachio, and Crushed Olive.


Background stamps came for Issue 87 of Creative Stamping "Wild and Free" & "Wild & Fun" monthly stamps.

The "Congrats" is a Ranger "LetterIt" stamp. Stamped using Versa fine black ink with Stampenduous Vintage Blue Embossing Tinsel.


The Sweet Backing paper is from Issue 14 of Crafter's Inspiration's "Sweet Treats" DVD


Hopefully, unlike the Hedgehog, you won't be indulging in too much chocolate and sweet things in this heat!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page